Uncategorized

A Bittersweet Goodbye

It is the end of the dead week and I’m making a fruit salad for a get-together/pot-luck happening in my last official class before finals. I’ve attended two other parties this week, both that not only celebrated the end of semester but also acted as one last gathering of friends before we all part ways. This week has been very bitter-sweet for me – because, you see, along with a lot of other Chico students, I am graduating and moving out of Chico.

So, while others are saying “see you around” or “see you next semester”, I have been packing boxes (or, more often than not, chasing my cat out of said boxes) and dismantling furniture.

I am looking forward to moving back home, don’t get me wrong, because although Chico is great, I love the Bay Area. When talking to my group last week about today being our last meeting, I was reminded of something:

Goodbyes are only hard when you truly care about the other person.

This made me pause and actually made me smile. Because although I will miss the friends I’ve made this semester, I know that I have made some truly great and meaningful connections this semester. And I have made some great memories with the other interns at UMatter as well as my fellow T.A for biopsych, my students, and my classmates.

So while finals are right around the corner, and it can be overwhelming to think about the people you may or may not see again, don’t let that cast a dark shadow on the end of the semester, but let the good moments carry you into a new journey and encourage you to make just as many connections moving forward.

Good luck Wild Cats – with finals and everything else.

 

Leave a comment